Imakuni? theme deck

So my daughter and I started playing this January. This would be the first time I look at a Pokémon card in 14 years. While we aren’t ready (or have the appropriate cards) for tournaments as of yet, shes getting there with a Circle Circuit deck. I, on the other hand, don’t give a rats about rankings or tournament play. I’ve been doing competitive gaming for the last 20 years. I’m out to make the most fun Pokemon deck conceivable:

POKÉMON: 16

• 4 - Imakuni?'s Doduo
  • 4 - Celebi (XY Promo 93)
  • 4 - Hoppip (ex Team Rocket Returns)
  • 3 - Unown F (Great Expectations)
  • 1 - Gold Star Celebi

TRAINERS: 32

• 4 - Imakuni?

• 4 - Team Galactic’s Wager

• 4 - Lucky Stadium

• 4 - Blaine’s Quiz #2

• 4 - Misty’s Duel

• 3 - Random Receiver

• 3 - Quick Ball

• 2 - Time Space Distortion

• 1 - Scramble Switch

• 1 - Imposter Professor Oak

• 1 - Alph Lithograph

• 1 - Trash Exchange

ENERGY: 12

• 10- Grass Energy
  • 2 - Cyclone Energy

I’ve always been a fan of the Imakuni? cards. Now that we have 2 of the oldest ones in English, I get it would be a good starting point.

If you’ve ever played the Pokémon TCG for GameBoy (1 or 2), the Imakuni? decks are…hilariously bad. And that’s what we are shooting for: a knowingly bad deck that’s super weird.

I’ve noticed in all my gaming that Pokémon isn’t very interactive. I don’t do anything on your turn, you don’t do anything on my turn.

So I found a bunch of cards that make them interact with you during your turn (Team Galactic’s Wager, Misty’s Duel, Blaine’s Quiz #2, Chaos Gym, Unown F).

I COULD go with more ‘surefire’ area like Bill, Professor Oak, and such. But that sounds pretty b-o-r-i-n-g. Between the Quiz and Chaos Gym, there’s a degree of ‘backfire’ that will keep opponents invested and entertained.

Random Receiver and Quick Ball are also random to an extent. I do want a supporter/Pokémon…it’s more fun when you’re not overwhelmed with options and the deck just vomits one up for you.